Oftentimes, people are confused about when they should contact a Florida personal injury attorney because they are uncertain what constitutes a legitimate personal injury claim. The rules for a Florida personal injury case are fairly straightforward and cover any injury that is sustained due to the negligent act or deliberate act of another person.
Understanding Florida Personal Injury Law
Victims of accidents, dog bites and slip and fall accidents may all have cause to file a personal injury lawsuit in Florida. In addition, victims of medical malpractice including nursing home negligence are able to file a lawsuit to be compensated for injuries as well as pain and suffering.
Common Questions and Concerns
What does it cost to file a personal injury suit?
Frazier Law practices within Florida exclusively and offers victims a free consultation. In addition, our fee structure works on contingent fees. This means unless we are able to settle a suit in your favor, we do not collect any fee for representing you.
How long do I have to file a personal injury suit?
Florida, like most other states has a statute of limitations on filing personal injury suits. In most cases, you may file a suit for up to four years after an injury has been sustained. Any claims against a municipality or other government entity must be filed within three years of the date of the injury.
What are the Florida dog bite laws?
Under Florida statues, owners are strictly liable for any injury their dogs cause. While some states have a “one bite rule” Florida does not have any such dictate. In any case where someone suffers injuries due to a dog bite the owner is responsible for all medical care to the victim as well as pain and suffering.
What about car accidents in Florida?
The personal injury rules pertaining to car accidents is a bit more complicated. Since Florida is a no-fault state, car accident victims must meet the level of “seriously injured” in order to file a personal injury lawsuit. In nearly all cases, seriously injured would mean disfigurement, permanent scarring that is significant or a permanent injury.
How does Florida determine negligence?
Let’s for instance say you suffered a foot amputation after a car accident. The person who hit your car would have to be found negligent in order for you to file a personal injury claim. Let’s assume the driver who hit you was drinking but you ran a red light making you partially responsible for the accident. Since Florida is a “comparative fault” state, a portion of the responsibility would be assigned to you and your total claim would be reduced by that portion. In other words in the case referenced above, the determination may be that you were equally responsible and if your award were set at $100,000 you may only collect $50,000.
If you or someone you love was injured and believe you may have cause for a personal injury lawsuit contact Frazier Law for a free consultation. We have the experience to handle a wide variety of Florida personal injury suits.